Hale's new album - Kundiman

Hale's Album Mall tour at SM Bacoor, Sunday, August 16, 2009

photos by azraelcoladilla.com

Hale's new album - Kundiman is now available on your favorite record bars.

Catch them once again and Fall in love with their songs.

For more information, Album Mall Tours and Gigs, please visit
Track Listing

1. Intro
2. Bahay Kubo
3. Kalesa
4. Aso't Pusa
5. Ulap
6. Magkaibang Mundo
7. Bulalakaw
8. Yakap
9. Harinawa
10. Outro

HALE releases fourth album under Polyeast Records New CD entitled KUNDIMAN with kick off single BAHAY KUBO

HALE releases fourth album under Polyeast Records New CD entitled KUNDIMAN with kick off single BAHAY KUBO HALE has turned in another solid effort with its fourth studio album which have expanded their boundaries with the new cd KUNDIMAN. The album’s lead single BAHAY KUBO will again prove that our band is letting themselves to be experimental and getting their efforts to be more creative as musicians. The new album will be launched on August 14 at Sky Dome SM North Edsa at 6pm. KUNDIMAN is leading to a brand new Hale that we’ve never seen before. “The concept is Filipiniana,” Roll Martinez (guitars) explains. “It’s called KUNDIMAN for the essences of the songs written and we thought it fits the album perfectly. It’s about the cultural observation of our mother country. We’re expressing the state of mind of our society in a humane context and not political.”

But befitting their brand of rock ballads, and so described by the band as “melo-drama” ever since they started with EMI Philippines in 2005 with the chart-topping “Broken Sonnet” and “The Day You Said Goodnight” which undeniably made Hale a big star in our midst—Hale’s new album still stood up with stadium-scale melodies and sing-a-long choruses with the kick off single Bahay Kubo.

As Hale’s music evolves after five years, BAHAY KUBO describes a context of being in a safe place with someone you love. As the band’s frontman and the single’s songwriter Champ Lui-Pio shares “Basically it’s a fictional story about two individuals lost in the middle of nowhere and searching for each other. Towards the end they find a Bahay Kubo, find each other and seek shelter in it.”

BAHAY KUBO’s video also veers away from the usual Hale type of video and done something the band had never done before. The video is directed by Nani Naguit and with a cameo role done by Ms Heart Evangelista. Champ adds, “We wanted the video to express great emotions between the boy and girl, that’s why we felt we needed to get a professional actress to properly execute it. The concept was a collaboration between the band and directors. Filming was a challenge since it was a mix of performance and acting.

Their soulful, haunting, intelligent songs have set them apart from the others and which prove that they can be uplifting without being so pop-ish, other Tagalog titles are KALESA, ASO’T PUSA, ULAP, MAGKAIBANG MUNDO, BULALAKAW, YAKAP and HARINAWA. Roll added “With this album it was Champ to took the lead in terms of songwriting. The songs on the album talk about everyday life being Filipino and love.”

Hale had developed and evolved their song writing with each of their albums - from self-titled album, released in 2005, to Twilight one year later, then Above Over And Beyond in 2008 and now this. “The new album possesses a different attack-- song wise and arrangement. Getting two people to co-produce greatly helped the sound improve. It took us four months all in all to write and record. We recorded in our studio, and got two of our friends to co produce it with us. Angee Rozul and Monty Macalino of Mayonnaise. Monty helped in the guitar section and Angee on the drums and overall arrangement. We surrounded the recording process with a fun atmosphere and relax environment” Champ also shared. And for Roll, “Growth is very important to probably almost all of the musicians and we are proud to say that we mapped out every new ideas, sounds and words to this new album.”

Hale started in 2005 with Champ Lui-Pio on vocals, Sheldon Gellada on bass and Roll Martinez on guitars. Hale’s new drummer Pao Santiago joined the band in December 2008 and Kundiman marked as his debut with Hale.

Underneath the melancholy of Hale tunes is defiance. The new album was specially designed to to reflect the soul of the album with images to connect with the Filipino culture. Champ added “We wanted to come out with an album that we’ve never done beofre. Release an all Tagalog album, that was the concept. As an artist , one way or another you want to pay tribute to your country, your culture, your language. This is the basic foundation of Kundiman. “



Popular posts from this blog

December 31 - Pakalog Festival in Pasig

Right Mind, Right Body, Right Workout: Get the Most Out of Your Routine

How Seniors Can Take Control of Their Lives