The Search for 9th Ten Accomplished Youth Organization (TAYO 9)

Aiming to recognize, award and encourage youth organizations - Ten Accomplished Youth Organizations' search hopes to inspire more young people to find innovative solutions and to challenge status quo through the organizations to which they belong. As movers in their communities, each group lives differently and desire how would they serve and became today's role model of youth.

Launched in September 2002, TAYO was formed through the initiative of Senator Kiko Pangilinan. It is organized yearly by the TAYO Awards Foundation, in partnership the Office of Senator Kiko Pangilinan and the National Youth Commission. Several government and private companies have also come forward to support the search since it started. TAYO has also been ably supported by Coca-Cola Foundation Philippines, Team Energy Foundation, the Department of Social Welfare and Development, and the Philippine Center of Young Leaders in Governance (PCYL).


On its ninth year, the search for Ten Accomplished Youth Organizations (TAYO) is currently hailed as the country's leading search for outstanding groups of young Filipinos who are instrumental in the development of the country through simple, worthwhile and notable projects implemented in the schools and communities.

Since TAYO started, it has succeeded in reaching over 1,000 youth organizations across the country, has earned respect across different sectors of society, and has evolved from an award given to outstanding youth, into a wider recognition of the efforts of young people in nation-building.

The Selection Process
TAYO screened up to hundreds to thousands of entries from February to Auguest according to their area:NCR, Luzon, Visayas, Mindanao.

Based on the initial criteria, TAYO came up with the Top 10 Area Finalists, and have them validated. Area judging was held to come up with the TOP 5 who will represent each are during the national finals.

Selection of Winners was based on the following: Impact of project entry on stakeholders, Harnessing the spirit of volunteerism and citizenship, Creativity and Innovation; and Sustainability and Effective use of Resources.


The Awarding Ceremony
President Benigno S. Aquino III awards the TAYO 9 winners last October 27 in Malacanang. Each of the ten winners received a trophy specially crafted by Toym De Leon Imao, and a P50,000 cash grant from Coca-Cola Foundation.


TAYO's partnership with Coca-Cola Foundation began in 2005 through a special recognition tagged as "Coke Barkada Award" an award given to the TAYO Finalist that best demonstrated the Coke Barkada spirit of collective volunteerism - working together for the community and living the value of positive action for positive change.

The Coke Barkada Award is given annually of the year's 20 national finalists winner receives a trophy and P30,000 in cash for organization's projects.

After awarding of winners, an exclusive media luncheon was held at Casa Roces in Malacanang. Welcomed by Wally Panganiban (Coca-Cola's Media Relation officer) and Messages from Bam Aquino and Cecile Alcantara.


Popular posts from this blog

December 31 - Pakalog Festival in Pasig

How Seniors Can Take Control of Their Lives

Right Mind, Right Body, Right Workout: Get the Most Out of Your Routine